

www.monroeccc.edu

Press Release

Contact: Joe Verkennes, Director of Marketing, (734) 384-4207

June 16, 2016

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

MCCC AWARDS PRESIDENTIAL SCHOLARSHIPS

MONROE, Mich. – Monroe County Community College has awarded the Presidential Scholarship to 10 outstanding area students for the 2016-17 academic year.

The Presidential Scholarship is a two-year scholarship awarded to Monroe County students who demonstrate academic excellence and leadership abilities, both in the classroom and in the community. The scholarship is to be used for tuition, laboratory and service fees. Recipients are required to maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.0 while enrolled in at least 12 credit hours of coursework per semester.

This year's Presidential Scholarship recipients are:

- Kaitlyn Burkey, a graduate of St. Mary Catholic Central High School and a resident of South Rockwood
- Mackenzie Coulter, a graduate of Ida High School and a resident of La Salle
- Madeline Gerweck, a graduate of Monroe High School and a resident of Monroe
- Tanner Irwin, a graduate of Ida High School and a resident of Ida
- Rihana Julien, a graduate of Airport High School and a resident of Ida
- Cassidy Maier, a graduate of Dundee High School and a resident of Maybee
- Olivia Przeniczny, a graduate of Bedford High School and a resident of Lambertville

(more)



- Grace Sambiagio, a graduate of Summerfield High School and a resident of Petersburg
- Halley Sellers, a graduate of Monroe High School Monroe and a resident of Monroe
- Leah Thomas, a homeschool graduate and a resident of Ottawa Lake

###