MCCC Home Page

Become a friend of OBOC






The One Book, One Community of Monroe County committee is pleased to announce the book choice for the 2017 program: Station Eleven by award-winning author, Emily St. John Mandel

Set in a post-apocalyptic North America, Station Eleven is the story of the Traveling Symphony, a troupe of Shakespearean actors and musicians who follow the shoreline of the Great Lakes in a post-apocalyptic Michigan. Readers are transported into a world dramatically altered by a swine flu-like pandemic, known as the "Georgia Flu," that destroyed 99 percent of the population. The survivors must accept their new reality and move forward to establish new communities. The Traveling Symphony operates under one credo: “Survival is insufficient.”

Station Eleven is set in a world turned upside down, but is ultimately an exploration of people surviving and remaking their lives by preserving the qualities that make us human: culture, art, and the humanities. The themes of Station Eleven will challenge readers from young adults to senior citizens.

Emily St. John Mandel is the critically acclaimed author of four novels, most recently Station Eleven, which was a finalist for a National Book Award and the PEN/Faulkner Award, and won the 2015 Arthur C. Clarke Award, the Toronto Book Award and the Morning News Tournament of Books. The novel has been translated into 27 languages. A previous novel, The Singer's Gun, was the 2014 winner of the Prix Mystere de la Critique in France. Mandel’s short fiction and essays have been anthologized in numerous collections, including Best American Mystery Stories 2013 and Venice Noir. She is a staff writer for The Millions and lives in New York City with her husband and daughter.

The One Book, One Community of Monroe County companion reads selected for elementary/middle school readers are City of Embers by Jeanne DuPrau and Fever, 1793 by Laurie Anderson. The teen reader selections are Life as We Knew It by Susan Pfeffer and How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff. The picture book selections are Blackout by John Rocco and Ada’s Violin by Susan Hood. 


Although, One Book One Community will not be able to bring in the author this year, some great programs are being planned to complement Station Eleven. The full slate of One Book, One Community of Monroe County events runs from March 13 to April 8, 2017.  All events are free to the community.  Watch the Monroe News newspaper and this website for more details about the books selected and to follow the various events as they develop.  


Founding Partners

The Foundation at Monroe County Community College
Monroe County Community College
Monroe County Library System
Monroe Publishing Company - Monroe News
The Foundation at MCCC
Monroe County Library System Logo
Monroe Publishing Company



Leski Insurance Agency, LLC
Siena Heights University 

Educational Reading Partners

Airport Community Schools
Bedford Public Schools
Meadow Montessori
Monroe High School
Monroe Middle College
Saint Mary Catholic Central High School


2017 Friends of One Book, One Community of Monroe County

Jack Burns
Valerie Culler
James DeVries
Globe Dental
Timothy Dillon
Grace Lutheran Church
Mary Kay Hamilton
Deminique Heiks
Ida Branch Library Book Club
Joe and Terri Janssen
Jack and Cheryl Johnston
Terri Kovach and Donald Benore
Suzanne Krueger
Edmund La Clair
Linda Lauer
Sue Lopez
Vincent and Joanne Maltese
Maybee Branch Library
Michael Mieden
Kenneth and Susan Miller
Richard Montcalm
Carrie Nartker
Wilma Nartker
Ann Orwin
John and Marilyn Raymond
Stephen and Rachelle Reed
Joanna Sabo
Patricia Schooley
Daniel Shaw
Eric and Heather Slough
Mary Steinhauser
Lloyd and Mary Strevel
Bonnie Thompson
Lela Wadlin
Cindy Yonovich