MCCC Home Page


News/Press Releases



May 2, 2018

Joe Verkennes, Director of Marketing and Communications
Monroe County Community College
1555 S. Raisinville Rd., Monroe, MI  48161
(734) 384-4207 (O), (419) 343-3063 (M) 


MONROE, Mich. – During its Honors Night Ceremony late last month, Monroe County Community College honored the following faculty, adjunct faculty, students, clubs and organizations for their achievements during the 2017-18 academic year.

  • Outstanding Faculty Award:  Dr. Patrick Nedry, professor of business
  • Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award:  Jeffrey Rabon, adjunct business instructor
  • Faculty Association Outstanding Student Award:  Leah Thomas
  • Outstanding Diversity Program of the Year Award:  Robin West Smith, adjunct social sciences instructor
  • President’s Academic Achievement Awards:  Matthew Brown, Alyssa Dushane, Christopher Fultz, Madeline Gerweck, Alex Goncharuk, Lily Kozicki, Brady Spitulski, and Joel Spotts
  • Outstanding Student Program of the Year Award:  The Mariya Heinzerling Memorial Scholarship by the Student Nursing Association
  • Dr. Ronald Campbell Student Government Award:  Joel Spotts, Allison Warner and Katie Vandenbrink
  • Outstanding CIS Student:  Claire Hofmann
  • Outstanding Accounting Student:  Ian Lawson
  • Business Management Scholars:  Mackenzie Coulter, Anne Donnelly, Jered Emery, Ashley Grant, Shyan Risden, Rachel Sorter and Tina Stout
  • Outstanding Electrical Engineering Technology Student:  Louis Nemeth
  • Outstanding Administrative Professional: Rebecca Fournier
  • All-USA Academic Team Nominees:  Leah Thomas and Kara Walker
  • Outstanding Nursing Student Awards:  Jaimie Terrasi (Fall Cohort), and Sara Slack (Winter Cohort)
  • Spirit of Nursing Awards:  Steffani Straub (Fall Cohort) and Rebecca Green (Winter Cohort)
  • Excellence in Practical Nursing Award:  Wendy Edwards
  • Practical Nursing Student Peer Recognition Award:  Mary Klotz
  • Outstanding Respiratory Therapy Student Award:  Kayla Major
  • Outstanding Mathematics Student Award:  Emma Muth
  • Outstanding Early Childhood Education Award:  Kaitlynn Moore (Fall 2017) and Megan Taylor (Winter 2018)
  • Excellence in Journalism:  Shane Brooks, Taylor Dively, Sawyer Jackson, James Quick, Cassidy Maier, McKinley Striggow, Donald Thomas, Erin Thomas and Leah Thomas
  • Outstanding Journalism Award:  Vanessa Ray
  • Outstanding Social Science Student Award:  Joseph Costello III
  • Outstanding Humanities Student Award:  Antoinette Kuzich
  • Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Award:  Madeline Gerweck
  • Outstanding Organic Chemistry Award:  Tanner Irwin
  • The George Rhodes Writing Fellows Award:  Emma Muth

About Monroe County Community College

Founded in 1964, Monroe County Community College is a public, two-year institution supported by tax monies from Monroe County, educational funds from the State of Michigan and student tuition.  

The college’s mission is to enrich and transform lives by providing opportunities and excellence in higher education.  The Main Campus is located at 1555 South Raisinville Road, Monroe, Mich., 48161, with easy access to Toledo and Detroit.  The Whitman Center is located at 7777 Lewis Ave.,Temperance, Mich., 48182, near the Ohio-Michigan Border.  Detailed information about MCCC is available at