MCCC Home Page
News/Press Releases



July 25, 2017

Joe Verkennes, Director of Marketing and Communications
Monroe County Community College
1555 S. Raisinville Rd., Monroe, MI  48161
(734) 384-4207 (O), (419) 343-3063 (M) 



MONROE, Mich. – Monroe Country Community College has named Dr. Kevin A. Cooper dean of the Science/Mathematics Division.
Cooper comes to MCCC from Colorado Mountain College in Steamboat Springs, Colo., where he served as assistant dean and instructional chair of math, science and social sciences since 2009. 

Prior to that, Cooper taught high school calculus, physics and geometry for a year after spending 9 years at National American University in Rapid City, S.D.  At NAU, he was system program chair for general education from 2005-2007 and a science and mathematics instructor and general education advisor from 1998-2009. 

Additionally, Cooper served as an adjunct instructor at South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, also in Rapid City, from 2000-2008.  He taught beginning and college algebra, as well as trigonometry.

He holds a doctorate in atmospheric and environmental sciences and a master of science degree in meteorology from South Dakota School of Mines & Technology.  He also has a bachelor of science degree in meteorology from Northland College in Ashland, Wisc.

Cooper now lives in Monroe and is a native of Toledo.

About Monroe County Community College

Founded in 1964, Monroe County Community College is a public, two-year institution supported by tax monies from Monroe County, educational funds from the State of Michigan and student tuition.  

The college’s mission is to enrich and transform lives by providing opportunities and excellence in higher education.  The Main Campus is located at 1555 South Raisinville Road, Monroe, Mich., 48161, with easy access to Toledo and Detroit.  The Whitman Center is located at 7777 Lewis Ave.,Temperance, Mich., 48182, near the Ohio-Michigan Border.  Detailed information about MCCC is available at