MCCC Home Page
News/Press Releases



June 1, 2017

Joe Verkennes, Director of Marketing and Communications
Monroe County Community College
1555 S. Raisinville Rd., Monroe, MI  48161
(734) 384-4207 (O), (419) 343-3063 (M) 



MONROE, Mich. – Monroe County Community College has honored the following faculty, adjunct faculty, students, clubs and organizations for their achievements during the 2016-17 academic year.

Outstanding Faculty Award

The Outstanding Faculty Award winner is Nicholas Prush, program director of the respiratory therapy program.

Other Outstanding Faculty Award nominees included Lori Bean, Mark Bergmooser, Holly Boylan, Dr. Roop Chandel, Lori Jo Couch, Jill Denko, Timothy Dillion, Dr. Maris Fonseca, Nicole Garner, Thomas Harrill, Bradley Hesser, William Hilliker, Charles Kelly, Dr. Terri Kovach, Dawn Lymond, Dr. William McCloskey, Felice Moorman, Dr. Mark Naber, Dr. Carrie Nartker, Dr. Patrick Nedry, Therese O’Halloran, Peter Opfermann, Tracy Rayl, David Reiman, Dr. Joanna Sabo, Lisa Scarpelli, Daniel Shaw, Kathleen Shepherd, Shane Spaulding, Kevin Thomas, Dr. James Vallade, Dr. Philip Wahr, Scott Wang and Patrick Wise.

Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award

The Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award winner is Robin West Smith, adjunct instructor of sociology.

Other Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award nominees include Jamal Bittar, Christine Chickeral, Kelley Colston, Timothy Curry, Kathleen Czajkowski, Joseph Dunne, Patrick Egan, Joel Fiedler, Joshua Halsey, David Hile, Thoams Hines, Karen Kuhl, Rapheal Lieto, Scott McCloskey Dr. Geoffrey Mclntyre, Jennifer Miller, Dr. John Piippo, Russell Pitler, Catina Polk, Jeffery Rabon, Libby Sheldon, Dr. Jack Siler, David Sontag, Michelle Sontag, John Strouse, Wendy Woelmer and Dr. Richard Ziegert.

Faculty Association Outstanding Student Award

The Faculty Association Outstanding Student Award recipient is Miyuki Zerke.

Other nominees for the Outstanding Student Award included Danielle Anderson, Jennifer Cline, Kellyann Navarre, Vanessa Ray, Brady Spitulski, and Leah Thomas.

Outstanding Diversity Program of the Year Award

The 30th annual Big Gig – Bill Rieser and Tom Ryder.

President’s Academic Achievement Awards

Clayton Blackwell, Justin Gruden, Kayla Hawley, Rachel Imes, Laurel Kinsey, Olivia Latray, Kellyann Navarre, Noah Stanford, and Miyuki Zerke.

Outstanding Student Program of the Year Award

Student Nursing Association

Dr. Ronald Campbell Student Government Award

Brian Friley, Javed Peracha, Grayson Bacarrella

Outstanding CIS Student

Luke Bunge

Outstanding Accounting Student

Stacie Ralph

Business Management Scholars

Nicole Farrell, Nathan Grodi, Laurel Kinsey, Javed Peracha, Samantha Prater, Carla Slamiar

Outstanding Administrative Professional

Jennifer Freeman

All-USA Academic Team Nominees

Ashley, Klug, Jessica Ryder

Outstanding Nursing Student Awards

Tyler Tomasik, Fall Cohort and Misty Skeen, Winter Cohort

Spirit of Nursing Awards

Sarah Beth Ferrier, Fall Cohort and Kari Hasley, Winter Cohort

Excellence in Practical Nursing Award

Markie LaPointe

Practical Nursing Student Peer Recognition Award

Elizabeth McNett

Outstanding Respiratory Therapy Student Award

Amanda Beste

Outstanding Certified Welder Awards

Dane Diesing, Kyle Knabusch, Brandon Turner

Outstanding Student Mechanical Design Technology Awards

Jacob Swanson, Zach Swanson

Excellence in Journalism

Leigh Cole, Miranda Gardner, Sawyer Jackson, James Quick

Outstanding Journalism Awards

Joseph Abrams, Vanessa Ray, Leah Thomas

Outstanding Social Science Student Award

Kellyann Navarre

Outstanding Humanities Student Award

Leah Thomas

Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Award

Tanner Irwin

Outstanding Organic Chemistry Award

Clayton Blackwell

Global Studies Degree Designation Award

Miranda Lyons

The George Rhodes Writing Fellows Award

Kellyann Navarre


About Monroe County Community College

Founded in 1964, Monroe County Community College is a public, two-year institution supported by tax monies from Monroe County, educational funds from the State of Michigan and student tuition.  

The college’s mission is to enrich and transform lives by providing opportunities and excellence in higher education.  The Main Campus is located at 1555 South Raisinville Road, Monroe, Mich., 48161, with easy access to Toledo and Detroit.  The Whitman Center is located at 7777 Lewis Ave.,Temperance, Mich., 48182, near the Ohio-Michigan Border.  Detailed information about MCCC is available at